The Yoga Sutras of Patanjali

Happy Monday everyone! In class this weekend, we went over 29 of the Yoga Sutras and their meanings. We talked about them pretty extensively, but I’d like to start a list and eventually go over them each in detail. Here is a very basic translation of the meaning of Yoga Sutras. I hope to continue to add to this list as we go over them in class and write more in depth about them in the future, with links in this post to the more comprehensive posts, like I did with one or two. Take them in, see if you can find meaning in them for yourself. See what you agree with, what you disagree with. Comment below with your thoughts! ❤

  1. Yoga is now.
  2. Yoga is the calming of the mind-stuff.
  3. If the mind is calm, with no attachments, you are free to be your True Self.
  4. If the mind is not calm, it is modified.
  5. There are five kinds of mental modifications, which are either painful or painless.
  6. The five kinds of mental modifications include: (1) right knowledge, (2) misconception, (3) verbal delusion, (4) sleep, and (5) memory.
  7. (1) There are three sources of right knowledge, which include: (a) direct perception, (b) inference, and (c) scriptural testimony.
  8. (2) Misconception occurs when knowledge of something isn’t based upon truth.
  9. (3) Verbal delusion is an image that arises upon hearing words without any truthful basis.
  10. (4) Sleep is the cognition supported by nothingness.
  11. (5) Memory is the mental modification of an objection previously experienced and not forgotten that comes back to consciousness.
  12. These modifications are restrained by (1) practice and (2) non-attachment.
  13. (1) Of the two, practice is when you put effort towards steadying the mind.
  14. Practice only works when you are earnestly focused for a long period of time without breaks.
  15. (2) Non-attachment is when you are actively and consciously free from cravings.
  16. Supreme non-attachment is when you no longer crave even what the physical body needs (constituents of Nature) because of your True Self actualization.
  17. Samprajnata Samadhi is accompanied by reasoning, reflecting, rejoicing, and pure I-am-ness.
  18. One you master, control, and stop the mental modifications of the mind, only the impressions, or memories, of them remain. This is considered the other type of samadhi, also known as asamprajnata samadhi.
  19. Those who die before reaching samadhi, will be reborn again.
  20. You can only get to asamprajnata samadhi through faith, vigor, memory, contemplation, and/or discernment.
  21. If you are a keep and intent practitioner, you can gain samadhi easily.
  22. The time necessary to get to samadhi depends on the intensity of your practice. Less or mild practice will take much longer to reach samadhi than more intense practicings.
  23. Or samadhi can be attained through total devotion and dedication to Isvara.
  24. Isvara is the Supreme Self unaffected by any afflictions, actions, fruits of actions, or by any inner impressions of desires.
  25. Isvara is all knowing and knowledge itself.
  26. Isvara expands throughout time and is the original teacher of all teachers.
  27. The word Isvara can be expressed through the sound OM.
  28. To repeat OM and reflect upon its meaning can be helpful.
  29. By practicing this, all obstacles will disappear and you will simultaneously gain knowledge of the inner Self.

If you want more, pick up a copy of The Yoga Sutras of Patanjali by Sri Swami Satchidananda.


1 thought on “The Yoga Sutras of Patanjali”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s