A Different Way of Thinking

One of my favorite things about yoga is how it opens your mind to a completely different way of thinking.

Something as simple as sitting or standing up straight becomes poetic in the world of Yoga. As funny, silly, yet serious as my old best friends mom’s saying was, “Back straight, boobies out. If you’ve got ‘em, flaunt ‘em!” it never motivated me to actually sit up straight.

In yoga, we say something to the effect of, “Sit nice and tall, imagine a string from the base of the spine reaching up, up, up, and bursting through the crown of the head, while reaching the heart up and open.” Many teachers also incorporate something with the bandhas and chakras, but we haven’t gone over those in class yet, so I’ve not got much to say about those, yet.

But just the differences in wording really encourage me to sit up straight. Something about the poetic yogic language makes me want to actually do it, for myself. I want to stand up straight and tall, not to mention how good it is for your confidence. The language used just changed the way I thought about my body and how I use it.

Yoga is all about being more conscious and aware of your body, your thoughts, and everything you do.

Next time you catch yourself slouching forward, think about sitting up straight. What language did you use to correct yourself? Can you think of it in a different way? Instead of thinking, “Dang, I should probably sit up straighter,” consider it this way, “I’m protecting and cutting off my heart from the world. Let me try opening up by sitting straight and tall, with my head high to the sky.” See how that feels, see if it changes anything in your mindset or body language. Let me know how it goes in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

